3D Realisation – Theme and Drawings

Having picked my focus for this particular module, I took to looking for some inspiration. It didn’t take me long to find what I was looking for. I am very much into Role Playing Games and in particular, I am very into fantasy settings. It became apparent that I wanted to look further into this after seeing Isaiah Sherman’s portfolio work during my research period. One thing I should note is that our work greatly differs due to the difference in skill level, access to resources and difference in art style.

A few hours prior to today’s session, I had started to draw a health potion. I realised as soon as it became apparent that I would be focusing on Items/Props that it would be a good idea to utilise this work for this particular module.

With this in mind, I took to looking up some different examples of how potions could be used in some kind of setting. I came across some images by Bernie Wrightson. Bernie Wrightson is an American comic book artist who drew “Bernie Wrightson’s Frankenstein“. The piece that I looked at in particular featured a lot of potions on a table. At this point, it hit me that it would be a fantastic idea to have a “Wizard’s Table” of sorts, with potions and magical items on display on the table.

With this, I immediately started to think about what other items I could include. At this point, I thought back to all the RPG games that I have played. One in particular sticks out like a sore thumb in terms of amount of time (and money!) I have spent on it. That game, of course, is World of Warcraft. A few things about that game spring to mind when I think about that game. “The Alliance” and a certain 10-man raid dungeon called “Karazhan“.

Karazhan is one of the first raids that I ever did. What makes it relevant in this case is that its story is that its last known occupant was a powerful wizard called “Medivh”. As you may suspect, this dungeon is themed upon magic. In this particular dungeon, there were several tomes lying around that you could pick up which would grant you some kind of effect. When I remembered this, I thought it would be a good idea to have some kind of magical tome on the table.

The Alliance emblem has a very royal looking colour scheme made up of a blue background and yellow lion. I have always liked the Alliance colour scheme in this game and took a lot of inspiration from that in the design of the tome. The colour scheme therefore implies some kind of royal connection with the tome.

I have created the following assets as a starting point for this project. I am pretty pleased with how they have turned out. Although, if I was to do this again, I would definitely be more careful how I used colour and would also be more careful not to smudge the page.

djes props edit

Potions and Tomes – Items/Props: David J E Smith, 2013 – Click for Larger Image

This entry was posted in 3D Realisation, Drawing, Modules and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

