CATS – Shadowbane – My introduction to MMO

Image

The above picture is a screenshot of a MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game) called Shadowbane. It is the first ever MMORPG that I ever played. As a Games Designer, I find that my main influences come from fantasy styled games and it was Shadowbane that really got me started playing the kinds of games that feature this style, leading on to playing games such as Neverwinter Nights 1 & 2, The Elder Scrolls series and World of Warcraft. It also sparked my interest in playing tabletop role playing games, such as Dungeons & Dragons. This is the first time that I was exposed to fantasy settings and stories outside of a video game, and led me to paying more attention to stories and even artwork.

During our first CATS session, we were given a brief to create a presentation on defining events and three technological advancements in Games Design. I have started to do my research on these things and my first topic of research is going to be the advent of the MMORPG. We were also set the task of working through a worksheet to define commonly used vocabulary in Games Design.

This entry was posted in CATS, Modules and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CATS – Shadowbane – My introduction to MMO

  1. Pingback: CATS Logbook – Session 2 – Analysis | Sanctuary Games

Leave a Reply

