3D Realisation – Isaiah Sherman

Following on directly from my research into 3D artists, I have decided to look further into the work of Isaiah Sherman. The reason I have picked Isaiah is because I was very interested in the fantasy style stuff that he has produced.

I have always been very into fantasy stories and fantasy art and as soon as I saw the pieces above, I instantly took a lot of interest in those specific works.

Although Isaiah does do a lot of traditional work, his 3D work is of a very high standard. I have spent some time looking into his other work, in particular, the work that he had done for inFamous 2 (below). What I find very interesting about his work for inFamous 2 is that there are elements within the work that look like they have been influenced by fantasy. In a recent interview with Bungie (introducing him as a Bungie employee), Isaiah said that he used to play quite a lot of RPGs (Role Playing Games).

Before we dig deeper into all of that, let’s talk about your background. Where does real life find you when you’re not painting our virtual horizons?
I like spending a lot of time with my wife and two dogs, playing video games, reading, and making art. When I was in high school and college, I would play video games all night long. That tapered off a bit once I started working full-time over three years ago.
What kept you awake all those years?
Some games I’ve loved over the years are (in no particular order): Secret of Mana 1 & 2, Mario RPG / Paper Mario, Mario Kart, Smash Bros, Pokemon, Final Fantasy 7-10 and Tactics, Elder Scrolls, Dark Souls, World of Warcraft, Diablo 2, Ragnarok Online, Battlefield, Half-Life, and Left 4 Dead.

I can definitely see some fantasy influence in the above image, as it would appear at first glance to be some kind of demonic figure. I particularly like how Isaiah is able to make these demon faces not look out of place. To me, this looks like this has been achieved through use of colour. The setting is quite dark and the environment looks fairly harsh, which helps us visualise that there is something fairly nasty going on. It also looks as though it has been enlarged and inflated to be some kind of balloon.

The above image seems to look like some kind of derelict building. It looks very old. In story terms, you can see that this at one point this was a very grand building due to how decorative the areas around the focal point of the building in this image are (ornate window frames, towers, fencing around the top). This is something that you could quite plausibly find in an RPG.

Since writing up my research blog post, I have discovered that Isaiah is currently working at Bungie as a “Digital Matte Artist”, which involves Matte Painting, 3D Modelling, Texturing, Lighting and FX. Isaiah is focusing on skyboxes for Bungie’s current project. Bungie’s current project is an upcoming game called Destiny. Previous to this, Isaiah worked at Sucker Punch Productions. During his time there, he has worked on and shipped inFamous 2 and its Festival of Blood DLC. Isaiah has also worked at Liquid Development and also on the Unreal 3 Tread Team.

I would highly recommend that you check out all of Isaiah’s work here if you haven’t already.

This entry was posted in 3D Realisation, Modules and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3D Realisation – Isaiah Sherman

  1. drhaiasi says:

    Randomly searching things brought me to this page! Thanks for the write up! All the images are broken, though, because I took down my ShermanCG site and just forwarded it to my Art Station page.

    If you go to http://www.shermanCG.com you’ll see it forwards to Art Station.

    Thanks again! It’s funny how randomly searching things online will bring something like this up 😀

    • davidjesmith says:

      How awesome! Thanks for taking the time out to comment, I really appreciate it. Found your work at a pretty important time and it’s definitely helped me figure out the direction I wanted to head in. Thanks Again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

