Creative Futures – Colouring in Photoshop

During an early session within the Creative Future lectures, we were given a workshop on how to colour in Photoshop. This at first seemed like a fairly daunting task. However, once explained and shown to us, it turned out to be fairly simple. In this post, I’m going to go through how it is done.

For the exercise, I used an image by my tutor, Gareth Sleightholme. The Image that I ended up with is as follows.

Boat Coloured In on Photoshop - Original image courtesy of Gareth Sleightholme

Boat Coloured In on Photoshop – Original image courtesy of Gareth Sleightholme

As you can see, I was able to isolate specific sections of the image this was achieved thanks to the usage of the lasso tool. As I covered in my introduction to photoshop (which you can find here), the lasso tool allows me to make selections by drawing around specific areas. In combination with this, I used the “Multiply” layer preset, which allows parts of an image (layers) to combine. This not only makes the colouring much easier, it also brings through colours from other layers, which can be used to make colours appear more vivid with appropriate use.

I have also used this technique in work since this tutorial, which you can see here and here. I am also working on a few other pieces which I shall add to this post once they are added to the blog.

This entry was posted in Creative Futures, Modules, Technical Skills and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

