Introduction to Games Design – Casual Game Proposal – Mark 2

Not so long ago, I came up with a proposal for a casual game (which you can find by clicking here) which involved creating a “Tamagotchi” style battle pet game. Since submitting this proposal, I have realised that this idea is maybe a bad one for a first flash game. I think that this would take up far too much of my resources. More than if I was to choose a genre that was already more established.

I have therefore decided to change my proposal. My new proposal is to create a “Vertical Shoot ’em Up” (shmup for short) in which the player navigates through space battlefields and collects power ups to defeat progressively more difficult enemies with better weapons. As the player gets further through the game, their score will increase.

The game will be controlled entirely by the keyboard and will follow a four direction and two button control scheme. This will make it simple to pick up and play, whilst getting more complex as the game goes on.

This entry was posted in Casual Games, Introduction to Games Design, Modules and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introduction to Games Design – Casual Game Proposal – Mark 2

  1. segmation says:

    I love Casual Games but the “Shoot ’em up” ones are not for me.

  2. Pingback: Introduction to Games Design – Casual Game – Milestone 1 | Sanctuary Games

Leave a Reply

