3D Realisation – Issue with TGA Bitmaps

Whilst working with 3DS Max, I came across an issue with using Targa (TGA) bitmaps as materials. When I applied these images to my model, they appeared to be very washed out and incredibly bright.

After I did a little bit of research, I learned that the reason that this happens is because 3DS max is trying to apply alpha to the model. As the images I was using is not transparent, this caused the material to appear very washed out/bright.

To fix this, when applying a TGA file to a model, you need to set the “Alpha Source” option within the material to None (Opaque). This makes the material appear normally.

This entry was posted in 3D Realisation, 3DS Max and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

